Search SiteSkip to Main Content
Top

Dental Hygiene Program

The Dental Hygiene program seeks to prepare students as dental hygienists who can competently and safely perform dental hygiene procedures, display the personal qualities of integrity, responsibility and reliability, function as active members of the dental care team and are committed to professional development through life-long learning.

  • Goal #1: Prepare graduates to assume responsibility for ethical dental hygiene care in accordance with professional codes of ethics and state law.
  • Goal #2 : Prepare competent, caring hygienists to provide comprehensive dental hygiene services to the local community.
  • Goal #3 : Prepare graduates to make evidence based decisions by acquiring, analyzing and documenting information utilizing current scientific research.
  • Goal #4 : Develop dental hygienists who are able to assess the quality of patient services they provide.
  • Goal #5 : Promote oral health within the community

Faculty & Staff

Faculty
Name Campus Office Phone Number E-mail

Cynthia Johnson, Program Director

Flanagan 2372 401-333-7220

cjohnson12@ccri.edu

Julie Galleshaw Flanagan 2371 401-333-7226 jgalleshaw@ccri.edu
Kathleen Gazzola
Flanagan 2375 401-333-7227

kgazzola@ccri.edu

Francine Luizzi-Bench Flanagan 2376 401-333-7228 flbench@ccri.edu
Janice Schmitz Flanagan  2371 401-333-7225  jischmitz@ccri.edu
Pam Wood Flanagan 2376 401-333-7238 pwood@ccri.edu
Staff
Name Campus Office Phone Number E-mail
Karen Souza
Department Secretary
Flanagan (Near 2374) 401-333-7438 ksouza2@ccri.edu
Joanna Popolla
Clinic Manager
Flanagan Hygiene Clinic 401-333-7330

jpopolla@ccri.edu

Ms Susan D. Hook,
Clinic Secretary
Flanagan Hygiene Clinic 401-333-7470 sdhook@ccri.edu

From the Catalog

Helpful Links

Areas of Study

Dental Assistant Program

CCRI's Dental Assisting Program prepares students to become DANB Certified Dental Assistants. Dental assisting is among the top 25 fastest-growing occupations in the United States. As a dental assistant, you will not only enjoy increased opportunities in a growing field, you will also enhance the efficiency of a dental care team. (More from DANB)

Learn More

Dental Hygienist Program

If you like helping people, enjoy working with your hands as well as your mind, and are interested in helping to prevent disease while assisting patients to maintain their health, a career as a dental hygienist may be for you. Dental hygienists are important members of the dental health care team who work with dentists in the delivery of dental care to patients. Hygienists use their knowledge and clinical skills to provide dental hygiene care for patients. They use their interpersonal skills to motivate and instruct patients on methods to prevent oral disease and to maintain oral health. (More from the RIDA)

Learn More

Important Links