

DRAFT MINUTES	MEETING NOTICE	MINUTES APPROVED
Created 2/19/2021	To committee: 02/12/2021	3/5/2021

FACULTY SENATE

Meeting notice sent: Feb 2, 2021 Meeting Date: February 19, 2021

Meeting start time: scheduled 9-10:30 am Actual start: 9:03 am

Meeting location: Zoom (COVID protocol)

Meeting secretary: Holly Susi Quorum = 14

Last name	First	Discipline	Department	Division	Attendance
Arsenault	Joseph	Emergency Mgt	Nursing	HARS	N
Austin	James	Library	Library	LRC	Y
Burke	Margaret	Computer Science	Computer Studies	BSTEM	Y
Burns	Emily	Geology	Physics and Engineering	BSTEM	Y
Friel	Kerri	Dental	Dental	HARS	Y
Galleshaw	Julie	Dental	Dental	HARS	Y
Hart	Roger	Astronomy	Physics and Engineering	BSTEM	Y
James	Eileen	English	English	AHSS	Y
Josephs	Maddie	Allied Health	Allied Health	HARS	Y
Kilduff	Raymond	Psychology	Psychology	AHSS	Y
Killgore	Leslie	Sociology	Social Sciences	AHSS	Y
Leasher	Barbara	Math	Math	BSTEM	Υ
Levitre	Dina	English	English	AHSS	Y
MacDougall	Sheryl	Law	Law	AHSS	Υ
O'Neill	Daniel	Art	Art	AHSS	Y
Rieger	Matthew	Physics	Physics and Engineering	BSTEM	N
Robinson	Jody	Engineering	Physics and Engineering	BSTEM	Y
Rood	John	Nursing	Nursing	HARS	Y
Ryan	Laura	Library	Library	LIBR	Y left early
Salvatore	Marilyn	Theatre	Performing Arts	AHSS	Y
Sneesby	Sandra	Communication	English	AHSS	Y
Stockford	Jason	Math	Math	BSTEM	Y
Susi	Holly	Communication	English	AHSS	Y
Swift	Tara	Union President	Union	-	Y
Swithers	Kristen	Biology	Biology	BSTEM	Y
Ulricksen	Matthew	Political Science	Social Sciences	AHSS	Y
Verdi	Genevieve	Psychology	Psychology	AHSS	Y
Zellers	Mark	Art	Art	AHSS	Y
Zoto	Christopher	Chemistry	Chemistry	BSTEM	N

Announcements

Sandra Sneesby opened the inaugural meeting of the CCRI Faculty Senate and proposed an agenda to include the establishment of operating rules, an election of the leadership committee, and the scheduling of the day and time for future meetings.

Motion to approve: Jason Stockford

Second: Margaret Burke

Discussion:

Vote: Yes 28 NO 0 ABSTAIN 0

TOPICS FOR DISCUSSION / VOTE

OPERATING RULES

• Matthew Ulricksen proposed a set of rules that closely follows the rules of the CCRI established governance system and shared the document with all. Please see Appendix A.

Motion made to title the rules as interim rules of the Faculty Senate.

Motion to approve: Matthew Ulricksen

Second: Margaret Burke

Discussion:

Vote: YES 28 NO 0 ABSTAIN 0

A discussion ensued regarding whether the Faculty Senate should adopt Robert's Rules of Order
or the rules proposed by Matthew Ulricksen. Discussion continued regarding the power of
abstentions which may need to be addressed in by-laws as well as the need to establish that
these are interim rules until by-laws and constitution are voted on and approved by the Faculty
Senate. In a brief discussion, senators discussed and agreed that the procedures and rules make
it clear that it is senators-only who vote (as is the case at URI).

Motion made to amend the motion and add #9 to the rules and procedures to say that these rules will remain in effect pending adoption of formal constitution and by-laws.

Motion to approve: Tara Swift

Second: Julie Galleshaw

Vote: YES 28 NO ABSTAIN

Motion made to adopt the rules and procedures as submitted in Appendix A.

Motion to approve: Leslie Kilgore

Second: James Austin

Vote: YES 28 NO ABSTAIN

Election of leadership

Motion made to nominate Sandra Sneesby as chair of the Faculty Senate

Motion to approve: Matthew Ulricksen

Second: Jason Stockford

Vote: YES 28 NO ABSTAIN

Motion made to nominate Matthew Ulricksen as vice chair of the Faculty Senate

Motion to approve: Laura Ryan

Second: Kerri Friel

Vote: YES 28 NO ABSTAIN

Motion made to elect the four additional members to the leadership team by electing one from each academic division.

Motion to approve: Matthew Ulricksen

Second: Leslie Kilgore

Vote: YES 26 NO ABSTAIN 1 (One senator left the meeting early)

Motion made to nominate Kerri Friel as the leadership team member representing HARS

Motion to approve: Tara Swift Second: Maddie Josephs

Vote: YES 27 NO ABSTAIN 0

Motion made to nominate Margaret Burke as leadership team member representing BSTEM; Burke declined the nomination.

Motion made to nominate Jason Stockford as the leadership team member representing BSTEM.

Motion to approve: Margaret Burke

Second: Maddie Josephs

Vote: YES 27 NO ABSTAIN 0

Motion made to nominate Holly Susi as the leadership team member representing AHSS.

Motion to approve: Dina Levitre

Second: Marilyn Salvatore

Vote: YES 27 NO ABSTAIN 0

Motion made to nominate James Austin as the leadership team member representing LRC.

Motion to approve: Maddie Josephs

Second: Eileen James and Julie Galleshaw

Vote: YES 27 NO ABSTAIN 0

MEETING SCHEDULE

Having already conducted a poll to find the most agreed-upon meeting time for this inaugural
meeting (Friday morning), it was decided that the Faculty Senate will meet every other Friday from
9-10:30 on opposing Fridays from the Ad Hoc Assessment Committee. AHAC will be meeting 2/26,
3/19, 4/2, 4/16, 4/30, 5/14 so tentative meeting schedule will work around those AHAC meetings.

Motion made that the Faculty Senate will meet from 9 am to 10:30 a.m. on the Fridays that AHAC does not meet.

Motion to approve: Maddie Josephs

Second: Jason Stockford

Vote: YES 27 NO ABSTAIN 0

Senate Chair Sandra Sneesby took a commemorative photo of the newly installed senators.

Motion to adjourn: Dina Levitre

Seconded: Holly Susi

All in favor.

Minutes respectfully submitted, Holly Susi

Appendix A

COMMUNITY COLLEGE OF RHODE ISLAND FACULTY SENATE

19 FEBRUARY 2021

PROPOSED INTERIM RULES OF PROCEDURE

- 1. A quorum shall exist when a simple majority of senators is present.
- 2. No vote shall be taken in the absence of a quorum.
- 3. All motions shall pass upon a simple majority of those senators present and voting.
- 4. No vote shall be taken until all senators and *ex officio* members wishing to speak to a motion have spoken once.
- 5. Agendas and supporting documents shall be distributed to the body and publicly posted at least five (5) business days prior to meetings.
- 6. No new business shall be taken up for immediate consideration by the body without the unanimous consent of the senators present.
- 7. Proxy votes are not permitted.
- 8. All committees established by the Senate shall operate pursuant to these rules of procedure.
- 9. These rules will remain in place pending adoption of formal bylaws.