

## CCRI FACULTY SENATE TEACHING AND ASSESSMENT COMMITTEE

## MINUTES

Date:	11/01/2024
Time:	10:45am-11:45am
Place/Link:	https://ccri.zoom.us/j/92873443731?pwd=ZkRJT1RVdzN5MHBhZmxNWndlUisrUT09
Members:	Sarah Beseme-Johnson; Kathleen Gazzola; Ann Omollo; Rachel Rogers, ex officio; Joseph Silva, Chair; Rita Turcotte; Melanie Whitaker; and Lauren Webb, ex officio.
Attendees:	Sarah Beseme-Johnson; Kathleen Gazzola; Ann Omollo; Rachel Rogers, ex officio; Joseph Silva, Chair; Rita Turcotte; and Lauren Webb, ex officio.
Guests:	Lindsey Gwozdz; Roger Hart; Justin Moniz; Jim Salsbury; Jane Reggio; and Rachel Vogt.

The minutes from the September 13 meeting of TAC were unanimously approved.

A special invitation was extended to Roger Hart and his committee (AAC&U OER) in order to facilitate a discussion around textbook affordability and the use of Open Educational Resources (OER). Librarian Jim Salisbury spoke about his attempts to obtain and get professors to adopt these open resources as many of our students are unable to afford textbooks. We were given a handout that indicated 60% of students did not purchase all their required textbooks; 70% waited to see in what capacity the textbook was used in the course; and 10% waited for financial aid or payday to purchase the textbook = placing students at a great disadvantage especially at the start of the semester and impacting student success and retention. The average cost of a textbook is \$105.37 and the average yearly cost of textbooks is \$759.00 and far higher for the sciences and nursing (\$1500). The committee seeks Faculty Senate support in encouraging a wider adoption of OERs.

TAC members raised solid questions regarding the "vetting" of these OER texts and their adaptability to certain courses of study and the time and effort to convert course content to match OER availability/viability. All agreed that this program or one like it would go a long way towards reducing the equity gap and possibly increase student success; retention; and enrollment.

Meeting adjourned at 12:30 on motion made by Ann Omollo. Respectfully submitted, Rita Turcotte (with Joseph Silva)