Skip Main Navigation

Community College of Rhode Island

Contact Information

Main office:
Knight Campus
3rd Floor, main building

Meet the department:
The CCRI Department of Marketing and Communications is the hub for all internal and external college communications. If you have news you want people to know about, let us know!

Social media
  • Follow CCRI on:
    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • Google+
    • YouTube
    • Linked In
    • Vimeo
    • Instagram
Kristen Cyr
Web Content manager

CCRI Ceramics Invitational features
exhibition, talk by two renowned artists

Feb. 27, 2013

Jay Lacouture's Bronze Teapot with Platter Jay Lacouture's "Bronze Teapot with Platter" is among the works on display in the CCRI Invitational at the Knight Campus Art Gallery.

The Community College of Rhode Island Art Department will host the CCRI Ceramics Invitational, featuring an exhibition by 21 artists at the Knight Campus Art Gallery and a talk by two leaders in the field.

The exhibition will run from Feb. 27 to March 29, with an opening reception from 4 to 7 p.m. on Tuesday, March 5, in the gallery. During the reception, the college will welcome James Lawton, professor of art at the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth and previously of the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and Jay Lacouture, professor of art at Salve Regina University and a former member of the board of directors of the National Council on Education for Ceramic Arts, for a talk at 5 p.m. in Room 4090 at the Knight Campus, 400 East Ave., Warwick.

James Lawton's "Benday Panel."Lawton and Lacouture, both of whom exhibit nationally and international and have work in prestigious collections, will discuss artwork development with students, faculty and members of the community. Each will speak for 20 to 30 minutes, followed by a question and discussion period.

Their work also is included in the CCRI Ceramics Invitational exhibition in the gallery. Other artists exhibiting are Mazin Adam, Rachelle Adam, Monica Bock, Josephine Burr, Erica Cioe, John Fazzino, George Garcia, Chris Lee, Andrew Maglathlin, Nate Morrell, Tom Morrissey, Kate Oggel, Allison Randall, Roseanne Sniderman, David Swenson, Lawrence Timmins, Chris Tonsgard, Vicki Trofimova, John Vierbickas and Mark Zellers.

The gallery is located in Room 3500, on the third floor of the round building. Gallery hours are from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday and 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. Thursday. For more information, email the Knight Gallery.

This page developed and maintained by Marketing and Communications. Send comments and suggestions to .

Last Updated: 10/12/17