Search SiteSkip to local NavigationSkip to Main Content

HESI

Health Educational System Incorporated

HESI is short for Health Educational System Incorporated. HESI a 4-part (web-based) supervised scored assessment. It is strongly recommended that this test be taken after completion of prerequisite courses. All sections contain 55 questions and take approximately 4 hours to complete.

The Math section covers basic math skills needed for health care fields, including basic addition, subtraction, multiplication, fractions, decimals, ratio and proportion, household measures, and general math facts that are useful, for example, when calculating drug doses and solutions. (Recommended time: 50 minutes)

The Reading Comprehension section covers scenarios that are not health related. This section also provides reading scenarios in order to measure reading comprehension, including: identifying the main idea, finding meaning of words in context, passage comprehension, making logical inferences, etc. (Recommended time: 60 minutes)

The Vocabulary and General Knowledge section contains basic vocabulary that is often used in health care fields. (Recommended time: 50 minutes)

The Grammar section contains basic grammar, including parts of speech, important terms and their uses in grammar and commonly occurring grammatical errors. (Recommended time: 50 minutes)

**Please be advised that the completion of this testing is a mandatory requirement for the CCRI Nursing Program. Students are limited to two (2) attempts within a 12-month period. A minimum of two (2) weeks between exams is required.

HESI Prep English & HESI Prep Math

HESI Prep English & HESI Prep Math workshops are for students applying to the Nursing program. If you are about to take the HESI for the first time, sign up early for strategies to study and for test-taking tips. You can take one or both workshops offered by Student Success. Just be sure to select a workshop that is scheduled at three weeks prior to your exam date.

HESI Prep English topics include: reading a short passage for understanding, unraveling comprehension questions, defining homophones, troublesome word pairs and HESI-specific vocabulary; and a grammar self-assessment.

HESI Prep Math topics include: ratios & proportions, unit conversions, operations with fractions, interpreting word problems and understanding percentages.

VISIT www.ccri.edu/success TO SIGN UP.

Study books are available in the CCRI Bookstore. Testing is by appointment only. There is a $50 fee which is due at the time of the appointment.

Testing Dates and Times

Flanagan Campus - 333-7159
Day of the week Date Time
Monday May 1, 2017 8:30am
Monday May 15, 2017 8:30am
Monday June 5, 2017 8:30am
Monday June 19, 2017 8:30am
Wednesday July 5, 2017 8:30am
Monday July 10, 2017 8:30am
Monday July 24, 2017 8:30am
Tuesday August 15, 2017 8:30am
Monday August 21, 2017 8:30am
Wednesday August 30, 2017 8:30am
Monday September 18, 2017 8:30am
Tuesday October 3, 2017 8:30am
Monday October 16, 2017 8:30am
Monday November 6, 2017 8:30am
Tuesday November 7, 2017 8:30am
Monday December 4, 2017 8:30am
Monday December 11, 2017 8:30am
Knight Campus - 825-2404
Day of the week Date Time
Wednesday April 26, 2017 9:00am
Monday May 8, 2017 9:00am
Wednesday May 17, 2017 9:00am
Monday May 22, 2017 9:00am
Wednesday May 31, 2017 9:00am
Monday June 5, 2017 9:00am
Wednesday June 14, 2017 9:00am
Monday June 19, 2017 9:00am
Wednesday June 28, 2017 9:00am
Monday July 10, 2017 9:00am
Monday July 17, 2017 9:00am
Monday July 26, 2017 9:00am
Monday July 31, 2017 9:00am
Wednesday August 2, 2017 9:00am
Monday August 7, 2017 9:00am
Wednesday August 9, 2017 9:00am
Wednesday August 16, 2017 9:00am
Monday August 21, 2017 9:00am
Monday August 28, 2017 9:00am
Wednesday September 6, 2017 9:00am
Monday September 11, 2017 9:00am
Wednesday September 13, 2017 9:00am
Wednesday September 20, 2017 9:00am
Monday September 25, 2017 9:00am
Liston Campus - 455-6149
Day of the week Date Time
Thursday May 11, 2017 9:00am
Tuesday May 23, 2017 9:00am
Thursday June 1, 2017 9:00am
Tuesday June 27, 2017 9:00am
Thursday July 6, 2017 9:00am
Tuesday July 11, 2017 9:00am
Thursday July 20, 2017 9:00am
Tuesday July 25, 2017 9:00am
Thursday August 3, 2017 9:00am
Tuesday August 8, 2017 9:00am
Thursday August 17, 2017 9:00am
Friday August 25, 2017 9:00am
Newport County Campus - 851-1631
Day of the week Date Time
     
     
     

Contact Information

Lincoln 333-7159

Warwick 825-2404

Providence 455-6149

Newport 851-1631

This page developed and maintained by the Office of Student Affairs. Send comments and suggestions to wjparr@ccri.edu .

Top
Last Updated: 5/12/17