Mandated Reporters and Exemptions - The Clery Act

Mandated Reporters - The Clery Act

The Clery Act requires institutions of higher learning to identify persons on their campuses who are mandated to report crime.

Specifically, the Act requires that the school designate persons who have significant responsibility for student and campus activities but do not have significant counseling responsibilities to report crimes that are made known to them. Based on this criterion, the following CCRI officials should report crime:

  • Vice President of Student Affairs and Deans of Students
  • Chief and Deputy Chief of Campus Police and all Campus Police Officers
  • Associate Deans of Students
  • Director and Assistant Director of Student Services
  • Director and Assistant Directors of Athletics

The list above does not imply that others should not or can not report crime on our campus or that they do not have an ethical or moral responsibility to do so.

Persons Exempt from Mandated Reporting
  • Pastoral and professional counselors working in Counseling Services
  • Health Services
  • Campus Ministry
Contact Information
Police Chief

Dale Wetherell
drwetherell@ccri.edu

Interim Director of Security & Safety

Captain Sean Collins
stcollins@ccri.edu

Police Administrators

Captain Timothy Poulin
Operations/Professional Standards
tjpoulin@ccri.edu

Police Supervisors

Lieutenant Norman Mageau
OIC Community Policing
nmageau@ccri.edu

Lieutenant Kevin Ziegelmayer
kziegelmayer@ccri.edu

Staff Assistant/Secretary

Melissa Campo
mcampo@ccri.edu

Website Content Manager

stcollins@ccri.edu